Homemade Pizza (well…. pizza dough)

Due to popular demand, I am posting my pizza dough recipe. I love making this for my family and they love eating it. =)

This dough is really easy to make and delicious! As far as toppings go I tend to throw on what ever is left in the frig. Great way to get rid of leftovers. =) If I have anything growing in the garden, I try to throw that on too.

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup of bread flour, 1/4 tsp dried basil, 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1 (.25 oz) pkg. active dry yeast(note: if you get the jar of yeast….instead of pkgs, then you will need 2 1/4 tsp), 1 cup of “warm” water ( they say warm, I tend to go hot, but not so hot you can’t put your hand in it. about 110F), 2 cups of bread flour, 2 TBSP olive oil, 1 tsp salt, 2 tsp sugar.

 
in a small bowl, dissolve yeast in “warm” water and let stand for about 10 min ( will look creamy). In a large bowl, combine 2 cups of flour, salt, sugar, basil, garlic, olive oil, and yeast mixture(note: I mix all my dry ingred. while waiting for yeast, then add yeast and oil last) Stir well to combine until a stiff dough has formed ( not sticky, also can use hands or spoon to mix) add 1/2 cup of flour if needed. Cover and rise until doubled (about 30 min) ( I put mine on the stove while the oven is heating up; heat will help it rise.) preheat oven 400F. Turn dough out onto a well floured surface.Form dough into a round ball and roll out into a pizza crust shape. Cover with favorite sauce and topping. Bake till golden brown (about 20 mins)

Enjoy!

I would love to here about how others have turned out. I am also open to new pizza topping suggestions?

Oh, if you need a dipping sauce for your crust, might I suggest some ranch dressing mixed with franks hot sauce? Yum!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Recipes: Strawberry Pizza | nwgreengirl

Leave a comment