What to do with my strawberries and rhubarb?

Up here in the great northwest we are coming to a close on the strawberry growing season. Makes me sad, really. 😦 Luckily, I collected up as many strawberries as I could (I had to contend with a three year old and a two year old sneaking berries off the plants when they could).

I stashed away my berries into the freezer, along with all the rhubarb from this year. Now it’s time to break out the canning jars, so I can savor the flavor all year long. I haven’t done canning in a few years, and to be quite honest, not very experienced at it. Quite recently though, I came acrossed this book, entitled “Canning For A New Generation”. I love it! So many of the recipes look and sound so yummy!

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=canning+for+a+new+generation

Two recipes I found include- rhubarb and strawberry spread and strawberry and lavender spread(sounds interesting, and just so happens, I grow lavender too). I think these will be two I will start off with in my canning adventure.

Pretty sure I will have more than enough rhubarb left over, and with that being said, I plan on making some rhubarb muffins, which the hubby LOVES. The recipe for the muffins will be posted shortly. 🙂

I would love to more ideas/recipes on using strawberries and rhubarb. 🙂

Leave a Reply

