goings on in the garden

2013-03-23 12.45.49We are just starting out the 2013 year in the garden, and as you can see from the first picture, yes, we DO get sunshine every now and then in Washington.

This year we added a little arbor over the gate into the garden, and I am kinda excited about this. Last year, I grew my green beans on the windmill in the background. I wanted to try cucumbers on the windmill this year, but had no place for the beans. Problem solved! And that, my friends, is how our arbor was born.

IMG_20130327_201902 IMG_20130329_120754 A few weeks ago, I started noticing little asparagus tips poking through the dirt and I knew spring was on its way! Then, when I noticed them about a week later, they had shot up! (see pictures below) Asparagus doesn’t mess around! Its grows and grows fast. This is the first year I get to eat my asparagus, but there still is not many the right size. Next year, ( fingers crossed) my stalks will bigger and more of them will be heading to the dinner table.

2013-04-09 13.37.16 2013-04-09 13.37.07

 

IMG_20130329_121015

The rhubarb has made its debut in the garden as well and I made my first cut of the stalks yesterday. I am scanning through pinterest as we speak, looking for recipes and ideas for rhubarb. If you have any thoughts, I am all ears. 🙂

 

2013-03-23 12.49.31Moving on…. I decided to experiment this year. My hubby’s favorite apple is a honeycrisp, and while they are good, they are expensive. So, I saved a few seeds, along with some fuji and gala and put them in an old annual planter that I had on hand. They say apple seeds need to be in a dark cool (around 40 degrees) place for so many weeks to get them to sprout, and while you can keep them in the frig…. I am HORRIBLE at watering. I kept mine outside in the planter over the winter. Guess what? I got sprouts!

Now, one day they got knocked over and I had to shovel what I could back in, and while they were not labeled, I now don’t know what I have growing. I mean, YES they are apples, but your guess is as good as mine as which type made it. 🙂

2013-04-09 13.36.34Lastly, a dear family friend had a sister dividing up her raspberry plants, and I was lucky enough to receive a few for my garden.  I traded dozen eggs for four plants. I think I got quite a deal. 🙂 Thank you Ms. Rachel.

2 responses »

  1. I’m jealous, I love skinny asparagus! All the better for roasting.

    Good luck with your gardening endeavors, although you’ll have a lot more luck starting apples by propagating cuttings of trees or purchasing seedlings. Sadly the seeds will produce bitter apples unlike their parent almost all of the time. Apple genetics are really quite crazy!

    • Thank you so much for the tip about starting apples from seeds. I had no idea. 🙂 Probably just as well….I hear it could take a few years before the plants are big enough to produce any fruit. I think I’ll have to break down and buy some starts or cuttings. The plan is to do espalier with them, since I dont live on a very large lot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

