Decorate Your Walls for CHEAP.

So, I don’t have a ton of money, but I don’t want my walls to go bare. Its time to get creative and find ways to decorate the walls of my home on the cheap. šŸ™‚

One of my FAVORITE things to do is round-up my past years calendars and use them as art around the house. One of the artists I admire the most is AnselĀ Adams. Thanks to my family, just about every year for Christmas I get an Ansel Adams calendar for the new year. I then use the past years calendar for art around the house.

For frames I try to go as inexpensive as possible, and for that, IKEA is my store! or maybe a garage sale if you hit one up.

IMG_0215

This is one of my most favorite Ansel Adams prints I have. Again, it’s just a print from a past calendar, but it’s ofĀ Mt Rainier. A very unusual thing for mr adams. Since most of his more well know pictures were taken in California, Alaska and Montana. Images of Yellowstone, Yosemite, the great redwoods, and the Rockies are what we think of when we think of AnselĀ Adams. Apparently….. the Washington cascades just weren’t that inspiring to him, I don’t know…. ;P

So I am glad he did take this wonderful picture to remind me of home. šŸ™‚

IMG_0222

These two pictures hang in my entry way. I wanted a little color, but didn’t want to give up the black and white. I located some poster board and traced the correct dimensions to the frame, cut it out and painted them the color of my chosing. Then mounted the pictures to the mats, and voila! instant art.

IMG_0224

Now, if you’re the artistic type, fill free to draw, frame and hang. šŸ™‚ The picture above shows ANOTHER AnselĀ Adams ( my second fav) framed next to a framed piece that I drew myself.

Oh, here’s another idea…. if you’re not the ” artistic type” find one of those artsy friends and get them to whip you up someĀ art. Maybe, throw them a few bucks. šŸ˜‰

IMG_0214 shirley-novak-pumpkin-poppies-iii

Ok , back to being the artistic type…if this is you, but you need a little inspiration, spend some time going through the painting greats and copy one of theirs. I found this great painting by Shirley Novak called Pumpkin Poppies.

Just, so happened I had some unused frames and some craft paints, and I whipped up these little beauties to hang over my bed for a fraction of the cost.

IMG_0216

Family pictures are always great to hang on your walls, but maybe something that brings back a memory other than a picture? well, hang it up! The picture above is a framed card. The card is special to me, because it’s the card I received from my husband on our first year anniversary. Awwwww, how sweet. I know. šŸ™‚

The picture below shows some kind of framed Asian print…… it’s actually a silk scarf that my grandparents brought back for me from their trip to China. Thanks grandma and grandpa. Just in case I never said so.

IMG_0219

Moving on to the kids room. Before my boys were born I set out with an idea in mind of how I wanted their room to look. A theme, if you will. The problem was, at the time, finding things to decorate in that theme, was most difficult, so….. I made my own.

IMG_0217

This was one of four paintings I did on a cheap craft store canvas and some craft paint.

IMG_0218

As the boys have gotten older and want less “baby” like art in their room, again, IĀ turn to the internet…. I found both of these simple graphic images online, which I printed at home, matted and framed.

Leave a Reply

